EuroHPC Benchmark And Development Access Call

The Call for Proposals for EuroHPC JU Benchmark and Development Access Modes are continuously open calls, with a maximum time-to-resources access (start-date) of two weeks after the date of submission.
The next cut-off dates for proposals are:

  • 1 May 2021 – 11:00 AM CEST
  • 1 June 2021 – 11:00 AM CEST
  • 1 July – 11:00 AM CEST

The purpose of the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking (JU) Benchmark and Development Access calls is to support researchers and HPC application developers by giving them the opportunity to develop, test, and optimize their applications on the upcoming/available EuroHPC Pre-exascale and/or Petascale system prior to applying for an Extreme Scale and/or Regular project. Proposals can be submitted at any time (continuously open). The review takes place after a fixed date every month (referred to as the cut-off date). The goals of each of the two access modes are:

  • Benchmark calls are designed for code scalability tests, the outcome of which is to be included in the proposal in a future EuroHPC Extreme Scale and Regular call. Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three (3) months.
  • Development calls are designed for projects focusing on code and algorithm development and optimization. This can be in the context of research projects from academia or industry, or as part of large public or private funded initiatives as for instance Centres of Excellence or Competence Centres. Users will typically be allocated a small number of node hours; the allocation period is one (1) year and is renewable up to 2 times.

System Description - Vega

Vega is the first installed EuroHPC JU supercomputer. It is an Atos BullSequana XH2000 system able to deliver more than 6,9 Petaflops or of aggregated sustained performance. It comprises computer partitions with different computing characteristics, and two high-performance storage systems, one based on Lustre and another on Ceph. EuroHPC owns 35% of the available resources. Vega uses Nvidia A100 GPUs. For more information on the system visit

Who can apply?

Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in a Member State or in a country associated with Horizon 2020 are eligible to apply.


Submission of proposals is possible at any time via the PRACE Peer-Review Tool on Feel free to contact ENCCS for any help with the application process.


[post_grid id='651']